Those Things

When I graduated college in 2006, I was equipped with my double major from Muskingum and high hopes of landing an ad job. I must have applied to every agency in Columbus before realizing that this wasn’t going to happen for me. I jumped from job to job in order to pay the bills and was angry and miserable that I couldn’t do what I really wanted. In December of 2007, I decided to quit everything, uproot my entire life and move to Savanna, Georgia in order to pursue some non-degree seeking credit hours at the Savannah College of Art and Design. It was a huge risk and totally unlike anything I had ever done. I loved it. And the 365 days in a new city all by myself paid off.

Recently, I was perusing Pinterest as I sometimes always find myself doing and came across this quote. It hit pretty deep for me because I was instantly reminded of that spark a few years back and how it changed my life. Today, at 28 I find myself with very similar feelings, like I need to change something in order to feel alive. It’s definitely not going to be moving across the country again. I haven’t exactly figured out yet what that’s going to be or what it entails, but I’m working on getting there. Eventually. Please tell me I’m not the only one with the feeling..

Leave a Reply

